His Master’s Voice

The black vinyl disc spun round and round, the single groove spiraling inwards at 33 and 1/3 rotations per minute, the groove leading the needle to its final destination, the label.  On this label sat the puppy, the overgrown puppy who could never again enter his house, but listened instead through the giant cone shaped tower on the roof.  He listened sadly to “His Master’s Voice”.

This is one of my earliest recollections of my passion for music.  My sister had been given a record player for her fifteenth birthday – it was the best gift ever – maybe not to her, but to me it was.  I spent more time spinning vinyl than both my sister and brother combined.  The Beatles, the Supremes, Jimi Hendrix, Iron Butterfly, not exactly what you would expect a seven year old to be listening to.  At that point I was hooked and there was no turning back.

Many years later, that passion for music still burns.  I know now that the dog was just an advertising idea – looking into the speaker of an old record player, the recording of his master’s voice was so clear that even he couldn’t tell the difference.   Now I tune in weekly to the Strombo Show to help feed this passion.  It is the perfect mix of “the new, the old and the in the middle” as George once said.  Discovering some of the best new bands, savouring the old classics, and being entertained by a vast array of musical guests and interesting discussion.  All of that is delivered in four hours of radio.  Now that fall is finally here I look forward to a brand new season.  I can’t wait!

I am honoured to be a contributor to this site and look forward to sharing the passion of music with all of you!

Olivia

I would love to hear what were some of the influences in your life that sparked your love of music.  Anyone?

2 Comments

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and
    my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide
    here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

  2. I see your page needs some unique articles. Writing manually is time consuming,
    but there is solution for this. Just search
    for – Masquro’s strategies


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives