George is Back with Guests Robert Bateman and Matthew Good

After two weeks of re-runs The Hour with George Stromboulopoulos is back with fresh shows and fresh interviews – with this week’s being taped in Vancouver. I assume the producers and staff took the time off to prepare for this series shows. I took the time to stay away from late night TV. The American writers’ strike and their repeat of shows helped with that too. It made me wonder though if it would have been beneficial for The Hour to have aired new shows during this time. Maybe they would have attracted some new viewers – those that typically watch the other 11pm slot shows.

And now onto the December 3rd, 2007 episode…

Robert Bateman – What an amazing artist. I truly love his work. It is probably due to my father’s influence. He took me bird watching as a child. He taught me about conservationism back in the mid 1970s. I did not grow up in the city. I was in the suburbs back when they were becoming suburbs. Not quite rural then (and certainly not now),  but it still had very little pavement. I spent countless hours in old farmers’ fields going on imaginary adventures.  Today Robert Bateman reminded me of this childhood of mine. I don’t like to be one of those people that says, ‘back in my day’, but I really do think today’s youth is disconnected from nature and it does us all a disservice. I hope his project Get To Know helps Canadian children go outside a little more.

Matthew Good – I am an avid reader of his blog and I very much enjoy his music. The interview did not shed any new light for someone like me. Not sure what would since he is quite candid about himself in interviews and through his blog – perhaps something super in depth and done over a longer period of time. In any case, I think it is very significant that he speaks openly about his diagnosis of bipolar disorder. He does not do so in a PSA way. He certainly does not do so in a Movie of the Week way. It feels very genuine to me. Very ‘just the facts’. I think that really has helped people. So have the information and views that he shares about geo-political issues over at his blog. The man is really intense about his research and his commentary is insightful. It is great to have a Canadian voice such as his be a part of this discourse about what is going on in the world today. I think he reaches many people who would normally not be so interested in such things.

I liked the space where they are shooting the show. It seemed like quite the full house and the audience quite enamored with being there. The sound was a little echo-y but it made it feel all the more ‘live’ to me. I also enjoyed seeing what I think were passerbys outside the window.

– Go Lightly –

2 Comments

  1. I liked the set too. I thought I see people walking by as well. Brett Hart’s Best Story ever was ironic and hilarious. I wish the puppet “issue” would die though. I liked the Gemini skit but if the family had a problem with it that was their right. I would think making jokes about them would only add fuel to the fire. I think Matthew Good will help alot of people with the way he talks about his problems. Clear cut and informative.

    So far so good for the Vancouver run!

  2. I liked the set too. I thought I see people walking by as well. Brett Hart’s Best Story ever was ironic and hilarious. I wish the puppet “issue” would die though. I liked the Gemini skit but if the family had a problem with it that was their right. I would think making jokes about them would only add fuel to the fire. I think Matthew Good will help alot of people with the way he talks about his problems. Clear cut and informative.

    So far so good for the Vancouver run


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives