Paul Potts and Nature vs. Nurture

October 16, 2007 episode

elyse and paula scheiinFirst of all, the opener cracked me up. I’m one of those annoying friends that hassles people about recycling – absolutely cracked me up!

I was fascinated with the story of twins (separated at birth) Elyse & Paula Schein. I was mortified to think that there was/is such a thing as a purposeful “Twin Study”. Talk about a God Complex. As much as I am truly curious about the events of Nature vs. Nurture, to think that this was decided by one person, or one ‘commitee’ makes me nausious.

How far can an agency or scientist go, in the name of learning?

Having said that, the similarities between the two separated twins, is incredible. I’d love to hear more on this subject. Looks like I’ll be adding yet another book to my reading list. ( Identical Strangers)

Paul Potts. Just as George mentioned – it was the heart that hits us. I think that even the most arrogant people have something inside that they just can’t get themselves to do. The story of having music in your heart, but not having the confidence to show the world what you are made of, is something I think that we all can share. We can all root for this man, and his dream, because we have that same fear and hope inside of us for our own. To think that this choice was all up to (literally) a toss of a coin, makes you shake your head. It was a great interview; because the subject had heart and honesty (and humour), and you can’t help but feel like you are going through this experience with him, or at least, through him, and that he is worthy of it.

The Dis-Information hurt my heart. Bribes taking up 1/3 of the average household budget in Kenya. Terrible, and how do you stop such a thing???

I was also really bothered hearing that emissions have gone UP 25% between 1998 and 2005 – what is so hard to understand about BREATHING and AIR ?

4 Comments

  1. The twin study freaked me out. It the lack of ethics in psych studies is nothing new to me (have a psych degree and this topic was a big part of my courses), but it still freaked me out. I cannot imagine what it would be like to discover something like that. I definitely am curious what kind of research was done on them. Did their parents send in reports? Was it limited to some interviews? Yeah, I am going to have to add this book to my reading list as well.

  2. You made some really good points there. I checked on the internet
    for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  3. It is easiest and most effective to make moving
    your body a habit. While the weight can disappear, the burden of long-term health risks looming ahead can be a weight that
    will never go away. For example Vitamin B is commonly called “the happy vitamin.

  4. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom mwde or ddid you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Many thanks


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives